top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

30 August 2021


Daily Practice Journal

Ten Minute Meditation (guided, opening of restorative yoga)

One Hour of Restorative Yoga at Blue Ridge Yoga


Postures (asana)

Supported child's pose

Supported half frog

Supported cobra

Supported reclined twist

Reclining bound eagle

Legs on the wall


Although I've been in classes where restorative postures have been offered and encouraged, this was my first fully restorative yoga class in my twenty years of practice. Sheepishly, I have to admit that if I am going to take the time to attend a class or practice on my own, that I needed to "work" and move through intense postures. I understood the benefit of restorative practice, but really didn't think it was for me.

This class opened my eyes more than I expected it to. Slow and gentle, the extended postures and soft, guiding instructions from the teacher cultivated an open, grateful, and supportive environment. Yogis of all sizes, shapes, abilities, and ages participated and were warmly welcomed. Though initially a bit bored by the slowness of the class, I found moments of deep peace while in reclining bound eagle. Instead of pushing or pulling into a backbend to feel that beautiful chest opening, I settled in quietly, and felt immediately calm. I'll be back to this one.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page