top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

29 September 2021

Daily Meditation (15 minutes) - post ashtanga w/ Michael

Michael explained that one of ashtanga yoga's core purpose is to prepare the mind and body for meditation. I have to note that my exhausted body were more receptive to a sustained meditation after the hour and a half challenging ashtanga practice. My brain was receptive, my body tired, there was no monkey mind at all.


Daily Yoga Practice (90 minutes) - ashtanga w/ Michael


While 18 count holds of shoulder stand and lotus shoulder stand, interspersed between half Vinayasas (plank, chaturanga, updog, downdown), are not something I would likely offer to my students, I can see the connection many feel toward this style. In these pretzeled, balanced, and upside-down postures, I remembered what it felt like as a kid to play in my body. That sort of joyous freedom of movement without fear. Sitting on the bottom of the pool, turning a somersault, belly-flopping, and walking on your hands. Challenging for adults, natural for children. I can see why.



















1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page