top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

28 August 2021



Daily Practice Journal

Ten Minute Meditation

Twenty Five Minutes of Asana


Last night, after our initial meeting, the instructor led us in a restorative nighttime flow. It both energized and calmed me, and immediately after rolling up my mat I went for a walk in the ink black, humid evening. After just a few minutes of walking, I felt feather-light, almost as if my feet weren't touching the ground. Everything felt right. I don't believe I've felt that way since the beginning of 2020.


This morning before yoga teacher training, I rolled out my mat and decided to practice before practice. I had trouble staying with my breath, and kept returning to "one" while I counted my exhales. Even the choppiest, most uneven meditations are helpful to me, and I had to remind myself that there is no perfect or golden mean in mindfulness (especially for me). After meditating I did a simple sun salutation flow, and felt my chest, shoulders, legs, and side "unhinging" in an extremely pleasant way while in utthita parsvakonasana (extended side angle). I find an almost perverse joy in the 'snap crackle pop' that my body makes when it's waking up through asana, a sensation akin to what those who crack their knuckles must feel. That crack, that whoosh of energy, that smoothing out. I'm looking forward to exploring and working out all of my kinks, both in body and mind.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page