top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

26 October 2021

30 minutes of Angela Farmer style flow w/ Shala

10 minutes of box breathing and other equal interval breathwork meditation


I realize that I've been doing "Angela Farmer" style yoga for my entire experience with yoga: it feels like the best of dance, especially bellydance. It's the style I find myself in when I'm practicing alone, for a long time. Curling the body, following the breath, slowing down the postures, listening to the rhythm, with the traditional Vinyasa asana as a starting point.


In the video, Shala said this type of movement will either feel strange, or like coming home. It definitely feels like coming home!


I meditated after, which made me think of what I believe Richard or Michael told us...that asana is often seen as just preparation for meditation. I certainly feel more relaxed, more settled, less monkey-mind when I've moved a lot first.



Angela Farmer and Victor van Kooten, 1986

courtesy Angela Farmer

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page