top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

19 September 2021

Daily Meditation (10 minutes) - savasana, diaphragmatic breathing, deep listening


With a bolster under my knees and a rolled up blanket behind my head, I breathed deeply from my diaphragm, holding my ribs and listening to both my body and the sounds in my house.

Thunder rolled in from a storm that's forming in the mountains, and it lulled me into a sort of sweet stupor. I thought of how honey-sweet yoga is, from its hardest moments (see below, ha) to its quietest relaxation poses. I am grateful.




Daily Yoga (est 60 minutes)

Joe's back care videos -- holy cow! Deep core work and back care postures, with a mini-salutation (downward dog, plank, chaturanga, updog) in between each one. He's such a wealthy of knowledge, and I will definitely use this as a resource now and in the future.


I have very low energy levels today, not in a bad way, just in a sleepy, relaxed sort of way. Long days of yoga, mixed with some light cardio, combined with the rain outside, have left me feeling a bit like a bowl of jello. I am so much better for all of us, though. This deep work in the muscles, this exploration and stretch into the body, brings up memories and feelings that have seemingly been held and locked away.

I thought of when I was little, and I sat beneath a willow tree in our backyard on an old sheet. I liked my own company a lot, and brought Babysitter's Club books to read. I would sing to myself and draw. We all kind of search for that sort of soft-focus, dappled light feeling again. We wash ourselves with substances, people, fears, anxieties, ego, misguided ambitions, and inauthentic experiences that take us far away from that little self. Finding her again has been a quiet sort of alchemy. A reunion. Thank goodness.



















2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page