top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Dano Johnson

1 September 2021




Daily Practice Journal

Ten Minute Meditation (Dharana, focused on a lit candle)

35 minutes of Traditional Sun Salutation (Surya Namaskar)Practice, and workshop of "head to knee" (Janu Sirsasana) pose


Meditation thoughts: I've encountered a number of people who are intimidated by mediation, because they feel anxious about keeping their eyes closed and their bodies still for even just a few minutes (I am sometimes one of these people). I decided to try meditating on an image/ object in front of me (dharana) for the entire duration of my mediation. In this instance, a lit candle. I slipped into the quiet, calm sweetness quicker than usual: my breath felt easy, and the little caged bird in my chest that sometimes incessantly flaps its wings against my ribs quieted.


Yoga thoughts: After last night's intensive (but fun!) Vinyasa, I initially set out to do a slow, restorative or Yin flow. Instead, I practiced traditional North Indian Surya Namaskar (sun salutations) for around fifteen minutes, followed by a focus on Janu Sirsasana (head to knee). I pulled out my handbook, my anatomy book, and Light on Yoga, and allowed myself to settle in, make mistakes, make adjustments, and really relish each posture. This felt loving and happy, and I'm so glad I'm doing this.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page